Bait, Fish, and Reel Report for October 2013

Someone once said that to be a successful and productive writer, one had to do the equivalent of “cutting bait, fishing, and reeling ‘em in, all at the same time”! This translates to writing as working on projects-in-progress while at the same time submitting completed projects to potential markets and also continuing to cultivate new ideas for future projects. In case you missed my previous post on this subject, at the end of every month I compile a list of what I accomplished as far as completed projects, in-progress projects, and future projects!

If I didn’t track September well, I was positively AWFUL in October, as I was pretty much obsessed with getting ready for NaNoWriMo. Wow. Which is, of course, why I am just now putting this together, almost a month and a half late!  NOTE TO SELF: Never get this behind again – makes it REALLY hard to sort through the numbers!  AGH!

Short Stories

# Completed: 0
# In-progress: 2 (“The Pit”, and “The First Crosswalker”, let’s be honest – NO progress was made on these… they just sat there… waiting…)
# Submissions: 1 (“The Transference” to Clarkesworld)
# Acceptances: 0
# Rejections: 1 (From Witness, FINALLY!  Sadly it was not better news after soooooo long…)
# Pending Submissions: 0

Poems

# Completed: 2 (“Ode to the Apple” and “Intersecting Ciphers”)
# Submissions: 0
# Acceptances: 0
# Rejections: 1 (from Torrid Literature)
# Pending Submissions from May: 1 (Bone Bouquet)

Novel

Words Written: 3140 on The Good Thing
Outline(s) Written: Chapters 13 through 22 of The Good Thing (the NaNo project)

Editing

# Own Projects edited: 0
# Others’ Projects edited: 2 for one person

Education

# Workshops Attended: 2 nightly workshops with Deb Sturgess
# Tutorials Watched: 0
# Books Read: 4 STILL in-progress (The Art of War for Writers and Plot and Structure by James Scott Bell, No More Rejections by Alice Orr; A Storm of Swords – book 3 of the Song of Ice and Fire series – by George R. R. Martin)

6 thoughts on “Bait, Fish, and Reel Report for October 2013

    1. BWAHAHA! I’m glad you like it, it IS new! 😉 It’s a newer theme, and I wanted something different and saw it and the colors were just too nice to pass up, hah. Soo… now I have the owl, hooray!

      Like

    1. I had NOT heard of that…. and THANK YOU for posting the link, because THAT.WAS.PURE.BRILLIANCE!!!!!! Omg, still rolling in laughter, sooo great!!! Thanks so much for sharing – now I love my owl theme EVEN MORE!!! 😉

      Like

Leave a comment